PHILADELPHIA, March 26, 2012 – State Senator Larry Farnese (D-Phila.) received a 100 percent from Pennsylvania environmental groups for his green voting record.  The Marcellus Shale Scorecard gives each state senator and representative a grade based on their Act 13 votes.

“I’m honored to receive a 100 percent from Pennsylvania’s Environmental Groups,” said Senator Farnese. “I’ve always thought that we need strong champions of the environment, and I’m proud to be recognized as one.  So, I’ll continue to do all I can to preserve and protect our great Commonwealth for generations to come.”

Act 13, which covers the state’s oil and gas statutes, was changed in a Republican led effort to allow oil and natural gas companies to use the controversial process known as hydraulic fracturing, or fracking, to extract natural gas.  The scorecard covers eight votes from the Senate and 13 from the House, including the final passage of Act 13 along with various amendments.

“This scorecard gives citizens the chance to fully understand how their legislators handled the key environmental issue facing Pennsylvania today, gas drilling in the Marcellus Shale,” said Josh McNeil of Conservation Voters of PA.  “Act 13 was the most important piece of environmental legislation to be passed in the commonwealth in the last decade, and a complete failure. Senator Farnese received a 100 percent score for taking every opportunity to defeat a law that will hurt generations of Pennsylvanians.”

Forty-two state representatives and 14 state senators earned perfect 100 percent scores on the scorecard. All 14 senators are Democrats.  To view the full report, visit”


Sen. Larry Farnese was elected to the Senate in 2008 to represent Pennsylvania’s First Senatorial District which contains some of Philadelphia’s most unique and vibrant neighborhoods from Port Richmond on the Delaware River to Fairmount Park on the Schuylkill River and South Philadelphia, Center City, the Navy Yard, Philadelphia International Airport.  Senator Farnese serves as the Democratic Chair of the Communications and Technology Committee.  He is also a member of the Appropriations Committee, Banking and Insurance Committee, the Law and Justice Committee and the Judiciary Committee.  His District Office is located at 1802 S. Broad Street in Philadelphia, PA (ph: 215-952-3121) and his Harrisburg Office is located at 543 Main Capitol in Harrisburg, PA (ph: 717-787-5662).  More information about the Senator and his initiatives is available at


Tagged with: